First Japanese TV channel launched in Vietnam

Wakuwaku Japan channel was officially launched in Hanoi on December 12 as part of a cooperation programme between the Japanese channel and the pay-TV cable broadcaster VTVcab.


Speaking at the launch ceremony, Vietnam Television (VTV) General Director Tran Binh Minh said the signing of the cooperation programme between Wakuwaku Japan channel and the Vietnam Television Cable Corporation (VTVcab), an affiliate of VTV, is one of the events to mark the 45th anniversary of Vietnam-Japan diplomatic ties.

He expressed his hope that with the broadcasting of Japanese programmes with Vietnamese subtitles will bring interesting cultural experiences of Japan to Vietnam, thus enhancing the friendship between the two countries’ people.
According to President and CEO of the channel Masafumi Kawanishi, Wakuwaku Japan has become the first all-Japan television channel launched in Vietnam.
To serve viewers in the Southeast Asian country, Wakuwaku Japan will broadcast all Japanese programmes including latest dramas, variety shows and lifestyle programmes with Vietnamese subtitles from January 2019, he said.
Also from next January, mobile phone subscribers of the military-run telecommunication group Viettel can watch the channel’s programmes on two apps: Onme and VieON, he added.
In April 2018, with the support of VTVcab, Wakuwaku Japan’s programmes were aired on a trial basis on VTVcab and Viettel TV channels. Once becoming officially operational, the Japanese channel will introduce movies and programmes featuring the culture, cuisine and tourism of Japan to Vietnamese viewers.
Wakuwaku Japan is a Japanese general entertainment channel, airing 24 hours a day, and offering a variety of programmes in the local language. Through the broadcasts and promotional activities, the channel aims to show to its viewers the Japan of today, along with its entertainment, culture and many local goods to increase the viewers’ interests of Japan.
It is currently airing in seven countries and territories, namely Indonesia, Myanmar, Singapore, Taiwan (China), Sri Lanka, Mongolia and Vietnam.
Nguồn: NDO